Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Montevideo, Uruguay

Montevideo, Capital de la
Republica Oriental del Uruguay
(Montevideo, Capital of Uruguay)

Plaza Independencia (Independence Square)
Estadio Centenario (Centenario Stadium)
Playa Pocitos (Pocitos Beach Wsaterfront)
Palacio Legislativo (The Parliament)

postmarked in 2010 with two stamps from Uruguay

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Montevideo is the largest city, the capital, and the chief port of Uruguay. It was established in 1726 as a strategic move amidst a Spanish-Portuguese dispute over the Viceroyalty of the Rio de la Plata.

Montevideo has a population of 1,338,408 and a larger urban area of 1,968,324 (2009).

It is the southernmost capital city in the Americas and third most southerly in the world, and is situated in the southern coast of the country, on the northern bank of the Rio de la Plata (also River Plate).

No comments: