Friday, March 16, 2012

The Dominican Republic

Republica Dominicana
(Dominican Republic)

postmarked in 2000 with $10 Correos stamp

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
The Dominican Republic is a nation on the island of La Hispaniola, part of the Greater Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean region. The western third of the island is occupied by the nation of Haiti, making Hispaniola one of two Caribbean islands that are shared by two countries.

Both by area and population, the Dominican Republic is the second largest Caribbean nation (after Cuba), with 48,442 square kilometres (18,704 sq mi) and an estimated 10 million people.

No comments: