Monday, February 11, 2013

Russian Money

Russian Money

postmarked in 2012 with four Russia stamps 

- - - - - - -

The ruble or rouble is the currency of the Russian Federation, it is subdivided into 100 kopeks.

Currently there is no official symbol for the ruble, though the abbreviation руб. is in wide use.

According to the most popular version, the word "rouble" is derived from the Russian verb руби́ть (rubit'), meaning to chop.


No comments: