Friday, September 28, 2012

Krakow (Cracow), Poland - Multiview

 Krakow, Poland

Barbican; Palace of Cracow Bishops; Florianska Street and St. Florian's Gate;
Cloth Hall and Monument to Adam Mickiewicz;
Old Synagogue; Royal Castle on the Wawel from the east; Main Square and St. Mary's Church

postmarked in 2012 with two Poland stamps

- - - - - - -

Kraków (Cracow), is the second largest and one of the oldest cities in Poland. Situated on the Vistula River in the Lesser Poland region, the city dates back to the 7th century. Kraków has traditionally been one of the leading centres of Polish academic, cultural, and artistic life and is one of Poland's most important economic hubs. It was the capital of Poland from 1038 to 1569.

After the invasion of Poland by Nazi Germany at the start of World War II, Kraków was turned into the capital of Germany's General Government. The Jewish population of the city was moved into a walled zone known as the Kraków Ghetto, from which they were sent to extermination camps such as Auschwitz and the concentration camp at Płaszów.

In 1978, Karol Wojtyła, archbishop of Kraków, was elevated to the papacy as Pope John Paul II – the first Slavic pope ever, and the first non-Italian pope in 455 years. Also that year, UNESCO approved the first ever sites for its new World Heritage List, including the entire Old Town in inscribing Cracow's Historic Centre.

No comments: